Ellen Starr Lyon

commited to creating art while being a full-time working mom

Why Still Life?

Leave a comment

small blue glass jar

small blue glass jar

Do you see a pattern in what I’ve posted so far? Still Life as far as the eye can see! This hasn’t always been my focus but has always been an interest. Or has it been THE focus? I also love to paint the human figure but it becomes a still life to me. This is because its the abstraction of what I see that drives me. This may seem odd to you because what I paint is recognizable. But what I see and what I love to reproduce on canvas is the negative space created, the light spilling over and through, and the contrast and energy of the colors I’m looking at. Don’t get me wrong, I love the items that I choose. They mean something to me and it’s wonderful to highlight these lovely everyday objects.

But what’s next? Do I take the abstraction further? Take what I see and leave the actual object behind? Maybe. I also love to play with extreme canvas shapes, empty space and crowded spaces. Let’s not forget the enchantment patterns hold over me. There’s some much going on in paintings that call to me, beyond the subject matter. For instance, take a look at the little sketch to the right. It is not finished or meant for anything or even any good. But I have it in my lab because it glows. The hot red vibrates against the blue/black and makes me giddy. Welcome to my brain and a wee bit of my creative process.

Author: Ellen Starr Lyon

I am a Paintings Conservation Technician by day, free-spirit mother-of-two painter by night!

Whatcha think?

