Ellen Starr Lyon

commited to creating art while being a full-time working mom

Post Show!

4 Comments

Well, the Opening Reception has come and gone. I felt prepared and was excited to see who might come. Around 4 pm the rain arrived…..and it poured and poured for hours. The reception was to be 5-8 pm. Despite the weather, so many people came! It was humbling to have concrete proof of the support of my friends, co-workers and family. It’s not very often that all the people I love line up to congratulate me for a solid 3 hours- felt like I’d just gotten married! What became clear that not matter what they felt about my artwork, they all recognize the sacrifice and effort it takes to pursue creation in the face of modern life. My “modern life” being a full-time working mother of two etc etc. I know that I find it incredibly inspiring to meet an artist that continues in the face of their own art-making obstacles, whatever they may be.

It was fantastic to be an artist for a night; to stand back and see the fruition of my efforts. It is tough to allow others to take a look and now that not everyone will like it or react to it in any way. Though enough had a smile or needed to stop to take in a small detail- that makes it all worth it. But, nothing beats being able to say I sold something on opening night- Thanks Margaret!

Author: Ellen Starr Lyon

I am a Paintings Conservation Technician by day, free-spirit mother-of-two painter by night!

4 thoughts on “Post Show!

  1. Ellen! So enjoyed your show! As your mother it was especially fullfilling to see all of your hard work come to light for others to enjoy. My dream for you, from when you first showed your natural talent, was for nothing to stop you practicing and creating art. Bravo dear one!!

  2. Like getting married, but with the exact opposite weather! Cold, dark and rainy. I wish I could have made it. I hear both the paintings and the cookies were excellent, but I only have visual confirmation on the artwork. A well earned congrats!

  3. Wonderful story!! Congrats on your successful show 🙂

Whatcha think?

