Ellen Starr Lyon

commited to creating art while being a full-time working mom

2014 Kinsey Juried Art Show @ The Grunwald Gallery of Art. Go see it even though my entry didn’t make it in.

Leave a comment

I’ve wanted to submit a work of mine into this show since it’s inception and have loved the Kinsey Institute much longer. You see, I interned with the curator of the art collection while in college at IU.  I got to see all the wonderful, beautiful, weird images etc. that made their way to the institute to be protected. It is so important to have a safe place for the study of sexuality; it is such a big part of being human and shouldn’t have to be a secret but treated with respect, care, and knowledge. Who better to represent all facets of our sexual lives, but artists? I am so grateful to live in a time when I am free to paint about what affects me without fear of reprisal, at least legally. My youngest child has just turned 10. This ends a major chapter in my life. I no longer have babies. I no longer diaper, dress or even brush their teeth. Both of my children are becoming more and more independaent every day. I relish this. This painting is a celebration of this- of having my body back. As a mother, my body was LITERALLY taken over for years. It’s primary purpose became creating, giving birth to and nursing two brand new humans. It was hard work but it was also magical. Though, when contemplating what I would create to enter, I saw the recent birthday as heralding a new stage in motherhood- one that did not require my body in the same way. Hence, the title “The Reclamation”. My painting did not get accpeted into the show but there’s always next year and it was important to me to create it.

The Reclamation

The Reclamation

THe Reclamation - sketch

THe Reclamation – sketch

Author: Ellen Starr Lyon

I am a Paintings Conservation Technician by day, free-spirit mother-of-two painter by night!

Whatcha think?

