Ellen Starr Lyon

commited to creating art while being a full-time working mom

FROM THE GROUND UP. And in this case, a Venetian Red ground.

Leave a comment

My most recent exhibition, Grown Compositions,  just opened last Friday at Gather in Bloomington, Indiana. The opening reception was three fantastic hours of greeting friends and family but also meeting the many art lovers in our town. I missed seeing my first buyer, so this is for her! S.P. here is your painting. I thought you might (and everyone else) enjoy seeing the underlying layers of it. It is a good example of my technique. I almost always start with a colored ground and then sketch in my composition- you can see the sketch in the first image. In larger paintings, this sketch is often altered, sometimes significantly but for smaller works, the sketching stage involves more planning. Next I will add the darkest areas and then the lightest, seen in image 2 and 3. This helps me to balance the composition and allows for the final glazing layers. Image number 4 shows the addition of the mid-tones- in this particular painting, the mid-tones were comprised of many different close shades of green. The final image shows what I think of as the “body colors”, the solid non-transparent colors. I had intended on taking another pass but the softness and velvety depth was already asserting itself and my deadline had come! So, S.P. enjoy your small plant portrait of Vinca Major and let me know if you have any questions.

Vinca Major 1 Vinca Major 2 Vinca Major 3 Vinca Major 4 Vinca Major 5

Author: Ellen Starr Lyon

I am a Paintings Conservation Technician by day, free-spirit mother-of-two painter by night!

Whatcha think?

